Vector directions on scaled (X to Y Ratio) grid?

Moderators: davetaflin, salter, steve, jprenaud, straton, Chris Idso

jtong

Vector directions on scaled (X to Y Ratio) grid?

Postby jtong » Tue Oct 09, 2012 2:56 am

Hi all,

I am new to Tecplot and have been playing around with the demo version before I actually buy the package for my research.
I have been able to make 2d contour/vector plots of flow over ocean topography, based off a finite element grid and was happy with the result, until I checked the vectors more closely...

You see, I am plotting a 2d flow field in the x-z plane.
Along my "x" axis I am plotting Distance (m) and on the "y" axis I am plotting Depth (m). Under Plot->Axis I am using a X to Y Ratio=0.1 in order to scale the axes. Therefore I can represent 160m in the vertical and 1.6km in the horizontal, rather than a long narrow strip at 1:1 ratio.

However, due to the scaling of the axes, I find that Tecplot can not draw the vectors how I would wish with accurate DIRECTION.

I have tried the 3 Vector Length methods and none of the methods seem to produce what I am after.
1) Uniform (%) - Vectors all the same length, so not what I am after.

2) Relative (grid units/magnitude) - draws the vectors taking into account the grid scaling, hence a 0.5m/s vector purely in the horizontal and a 0.5m/s vector purely in the vertical are displayed with different lengths, in my case, the horizontal vector is much much smaller. This is not what I want as I want to be able to look at a vector and know whether it is big or small flow.