Periodic zones for animation

Moderators: davetaflin, salter, steve, jprenaud, straton, Chris Idso

marsentry
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 4:07 am
Location: Italy

Periodic zones for animation

Postby marsentry » Fri Nov 05, 2010 5:43 am

Hi people, this is my first post :D

I am an italian engineer and I need your help for a problem.
I opened the discussion here because my data are unsteady and I have to create the animation, but my problem is not the animetion itself (I've already done it in the past several times).

My problem is this:

I have performed with fluent the simulation of an axial compressor followed by the stator blades. I have created the grid for one single rotor blade and one single stator blade, and I have used the "periodic" condition in fluent, that allows to simulate this kind of problems.
Now, when I plot the data in tecplot I see only the grid I have created, and I am not able to display its repetitions in teh periodic directions.
I want to display at least three or four blades.

Is there a way to copy a region and traslate it along a directions? I've seed there is the "Duplicate zone" function, but it copies the regions and doesn't traslate it.

Or, is there a sort of "Duplicate periodic zone"?

Thank you very much in advance.

Chris Idso
Jedi Master
Posts: 249
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2007 10:07 am
Location: Bellevue, WA
Contact:

Re: Periodic zones for animation

Postby Chris Idso » Mon Nov 08, 2010 10:18 am

Hello,

Tecplot lets you create a zone that is a duplicate of an existing zone as you have seen. If you go to Data/Alter/2D Rotate, this feature will allow you to rotate a zone (2d or 3d) about an axis, so the combination of the two features will probably do what you need. (First, make a copy, then rotate the copy).

If you have any questions, please let us know.
Chris


Christopher Idso

Tech Support Lead
Tecplot, Inc

marsentry
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 4:07 am
Location: Italy

Re: Periodic zones for animation

Postby marsentry » Tue Nov 09, 2010 5:31 am

Hi Chris Idso,
thank you very much for your reply.

My question is this, can I traslate the copied zone instead of rotate?

marsentry
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 4:07 am
Location: Italy

Re: Periodic zones for animation

Postby marsentry » Wed Nov 10, 2010 1:22 pm

Hi, I made it. I obtained a traslation by mean of 2 rotations.

But my problem now is this: I have to make it for each time step!!!
I do it, but I have multiple case and multiple data files, and once I make it for a time step, it is not valid for other time steps :(


Help... :cry:


Return to “Animation”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest