how to animate Multi-Zone XY Line Plot with 2 y-axies

Moderators: davetaflin, salter, steve, jprenaud, straton, Chris Idso

shrine08
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2012 1:24 am
Location: China

how to animate Multi-Zone XY Line Plot with 2 y-axies

Postby shrine08 » Tue Jan 10, 2012 7:24 am

There is a example in the Tecplot 360 help

TITLE = "Example: Multi-Zone XY Line Plot"
VARIABLES = "Position", "Temperature", "Pressure"
ZONE T="0.0 seconds", I=4
71.30 563.7 101362.5
86.70 556.7 101349.6
103.1 540.8 101345.4
124.4 449.2 101345.2
ZONE T="0.1 seconds", I=4
71.31 564.9 101362.1
84.42 553.1 101348.9
103.1 540.5 101344.0
124.8 458.5 101342.2
TEXT CS=FRAME, HU=POINT, X=16, Y=90, H=28, T="SAMPLE CASE"

I drag this data file to Tecplot 360, the animation result is
1st Frame: Position-Temperature in 0.0 seconds
2nd Frame: Position-Presure in 0.0 seconds
3rd Frame: Position-Temperature in 0.1 seconds
4th Frame: Position-Presure in 0.1 seconds

But the result I want is
1st Frame: Position-Temperature-Presure in 0.0 seconds
2nd Frame: Position-Temperature-Presure in 0.1 seconds

How to achieve what I want?

Chris Idso
Jedi Master
Posts: 249
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2007 10:07 am
Location: Bellevue, WA
Contact:

Re: how to animate Multi-Zone XY Line Plot with 2 y-axies

Postby Chris Idso » Mon Jan 16, 2012 4:39 pm

Hello,

The easiest way to do this is to switch into 2d cartesian mode. Then go to Data/Edit Time Strands and add Solution Time/StrandID information to your zones so that Tecplot knows that you have two zones per timestep and two different times. This way you can animate zones instead of XY line maps.

When you open the Data/Edit Time Strands dialog you will see all four of your zones in the list on the left. In the top right (Data/Specifications) select the Multiple Zones per Time Step, and then set the Sones Grouped By to Time Step and the Zones Per Group to 2.

In the Time Strand portion of the dialog(middle right) check the Assign Strands box, and st the Base ID to 1.

In the Solution Time portion of the dialog check the Assign Solution Time box, select Constant Value and set the Initial to 1 and the Delta to 1.

Then click Apply. Tecplot assign Solution Time and strandID information to your zones and activate the animation controls on the sidebar, which you can then use to animate your zones.

Another more complicated way to do this is to write a macro.
Chris


Christopher Idso

Tech Support Lead
Tecplot, Inc

adolfainsley8
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2016 11:13 pm
Location: dfgdff

Re: how to animate Multi-Zone XY Line Plot with 2 y-axies

Postby adolfainsley8 » Mon Apr 25, 2016 11:14 pm

Tecplot assign Solution Time and strandID information to your zones and activate the animation controls on the sidebar, which you can then use to animate your zones???
waleeed


Return to “Animation”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests