Animate XY line with a moving line

Moderators: davetaflin, salter, steve, jprenaud, straton, Chris Idso

Romain
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu May 29, 2014 1:55 am
Location: United Kingdom

Animate XY line with a moving line

Postby Romain » Wed Jun 04, 2014 12:23 am

Hello everybody.

I would like to animate simultaneously a 2D contour and a XY line. All the data are transient and the XY line corresponds to some average data calculated on the contour versus the time.

Thus I would like to animate the 2D contour and see a moving line on my XY line corresponding to the time step as illustrated on this video, at 1:40.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=juK0o-IulzY

Does someone have any clue to do this kind of animation ? I tried manually to draw a line and moving it with a loop but without succes.

Thank you in advance for your help.

straton
Jedi Master
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 7:38 am
Location: Bellevue, Washington
Contact:

Re: Animate XY line with a moving line

Postby straton » Fri Jun 06, 2014 12:01 pm

Hello Romain, from the Tecplot Tools menu select > Time Series Plot > Probe To Create Time Series Plot.

Select a point to probe > its value over time will be shown in a separate frame as an XY line plot > the vertical Marker Gridline bar (solution time) changes with your animation.

werdnahman
Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu May 22, 2014 7:20 am
Location: Louisville

Re: Animate XY line with a moving line

Postby werdnahman » Fri Jun 13, 2014 8:55 am

I have this problem as well, and the "Probe To Create Time Series Plot" is grayed out for me.

JerimiahLee
Tecplot Employee
Posts: 81
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2012 11:20 am
Location: Bellevue, WA

Re: Animate XY line with a moving line

Postby JerimiahLee » Tue Jun 17, 2014 12:56 pm

The "Probe to Create Time Series Plot" may be greyed out if Tecplot doesn't recognize that your data is transient. Please use Data > Alter > Edit Time Strands to set this up.
Technical Support Specialist
Email: support@tecplot.com

Tecplot, Inc. | Master the View
3535 Factoria Blvd. S.E., Ste. 550
Bellevue, Washington USA 98006
Main: 425.653.1200
Fax: 425.653.9200
Web: www.tecplot.com

werdnahman
Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu May 22, 2014 7:20 am
Location: Louisville

Re: Animate XY line with a moving line

Postby werdnahman » Mon Jun 23, 2014 9:19 am

Hi,

My data currently has time strands set up, and when I try to specify time strands, it won't let me edit my zones independently. I'm using Tec360 2013R1, if that helps. A sample header on one of my files is as follows:

TITLE = "2D surface"
VARIABLES = "X", "Y"
ZONE T="TRIANGLES", N= 932, E= 466, DATAPACKING=POINT,
ZONETYPE=FELINESEG SOLUTIONTIME= 0.6804077539904967E-007 STRANDID= 2

I'm trying to plot a surface over pressure/density data and export that as a movie, as my desired end result. Thanks for your help!

User avatar
salter
Moderator
Posts: 188
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2006 10:57 am
Location: NASA Langley Research Center
Contact:

Re: Animate XY line with a moving line

Postby salter » Tue Jun 24, 2014 7:02 am

werdnahman,

I'm trying to understand what you are describing, but need some additional information. When I looked at the referenced webinar from Durrell of Tecplot Inc., I see animation of the surface over time, with an X-Y line plot showing where a line indicates time progression along an unsteady result plotted vs. time. From your description, I get the impression you want to see the animation of the surface contour to correspond to an average curve that is plotted as an X-Y line as a function of something else. Thus in the animation, as the surface contour plot changes, the average curve X-Y line changes, and not a reference point along a curve. Is this accurate?
Steve...

Aerospace Research Engineer
Aerothermodynamics Branch
NASA Langley Research Center

werdnahman
Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu May 22, 2014 7:20 am
Location: Louisville

Re: Animate XY line with a moving line

Postby werdnahman » Tue Jun 24, 2014 7:20 am

Hi Salter!

What I am trying to do is a bit different. I am trying to get an X-Y line plot to animate with time, but it isn't calculated over the surface, it is a deforming surface output by my software.

I am working on a multiphase simulation looking at droplet impingement on a regular grid. The interface between the liquid drop and surrounding gas phase deforms, and is output in a list of cartesian points (with the header from my last post).

All of the other information is output on a cartesian grid, which works great for everything except displaying the surface when the volume of one phase is less than ~two grid cells thick. (I have to plot to a volume fraction of 0.5, so at least one cell has to be more than half water.) Since I can't interpolate to the correct value at fine features, I need to add the surface file, which I can do, it just won't let me do a time plot with it.

I can try to find a way to upload some of my data, if that would help. One of our older 3-D videos with the surface defined by the interpolated Volume Fraction is on youtube (see below). Basically, the edges of the drop are getting cut off...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ujK3C2JAAc4

werdnahman
Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu May 22, 2014 7:20 am
Location: Louisville

Re: Animate XY line with a moving line

Postby werdnahman » Tue Jun 24, 2014 11:27 am

I just realized I didn't directly answer your question, Steve. I'm trying to get the surface as an X-Y line over a 2D contour, so what you said was half right I think. The surface is just a function of time, and I have a lot of other data that I'd like to just see behind it (and eventually integrate over the line surface, but that's down the road).

Thanks again!
-Andrew

User avatar
salter
Moderator
Posts: 188
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2006 10:57 am
Location: NASA Langley Research Center
Contact:

Re: Animate XY line with a moving line

Postby salter » Thu Jun 26, 2014 11:29 am

Andrew,

So you have a line surface? The animation you provided is quite interesting, but what I am lost is what do you really want to see. Surfaces can be displayed as a grid represented by lines between points, or a shaded representation of the cells created by the line connections between points. From your description, which is rather confusing, " [you are]...trying to get the surface as an X-Y line over a 2D contour". Representing an entire surface as a line is confusing, unless you are computing an average of all the Y-values at a particular X, then plotting the average vs. X. Can you be more specific?
Steve...



Aerospace Research Engineer

Aerothermodynamics Branch

NASA Langley Research Center

werdnahman
Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu May 22, 2014 7:20 am
Location: Louisville

Re: Animate XY line with a moving line

Postby werdnahman » Thu Jun 26, 2014 11:57 am

Hi Steve,

So, that video is a 3d example. I'm actually doing a similar test in 2D. In the 2D axisymmetric test, all of my data represents a cross-section of the 3D space. None of the values are averaged, just axisymmetric.
Here is a shot of one of my older tests, showing a water droplet in dark blue hitting a no-slip boundary in air (light blue):
Image
This was generated by showing the volume fraction. Anywhere it is greater than 0.5, dark blue is shown. Anywhere it is less than 0.5, light blue is shown.

This is my rather bad paint illustration showing the disjoint surface data superposed onto the surface (I'd superpose the actual surface but I'm locked out of Tecplot for a bit):
Image

The surface file for a 2D case just contains a bunch of disjoint lines that are really close to the actual surface, and it's these that, only in 2D, I cannot get them to work with a time plot. The 3D files work, but they are a bunch of disjoint triangles instead of disjoint lines, and I don't have to do an X-Y line plot with that. I can upload more items as soon as I can get back into Tecplot, which might be a day or so.

Thanks again!
Andrew

UofL CFD

werdnahman
Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu May 22, 2014 7:20 am
Location: Louisville

Re: Animate XY line with a moving line

Postby werdnahman » Thu Dec 11, 2014 10:43 am

I think I just found a solution to this last night. If I set the data up as 2d cartesian, and turn mesh on, it plots the surface now. Not sure that was the case with the last version of my output files, but it works now.
Andrew



UofL CFD


Return to “Animation”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest