Circulation around vortex core

Moderators: steve, jprenaud, straton, Chris Idso, davetaflin, salter

ridhwan

Circulation around vortex core

Postby ridhwan » Tue Jan 19, 2010 4:49 am

Hello, I'm new in Tecplot. Is there a tool in tecplot 360 to calculate circulation around the vortex core?

Or to calculate closed integration of $oint \vec{u} \cdot \vec{dl}$.

newby

Chris Idso
Jedi Master

Re: Circulation around vortex core

Postby Chris Idso » Wed Jan 20, 2010 10:22 am

Hello Ridwan,

Are you asking whether Tecplot can display a vortex core, or are you just asking if Tecplot can perform a calculation on a vortex core that has already been displayed?
Chris

Christopher Idso

Tech Support Lead
Tecplot, Inc

ridhwan

Postby ridhwan » Fri Jan 22, 2010 2:30 am

Hello Chris,

I have already calculate and display a vortex core, vortex core radius as well. Now I'm going to calculate circulation around the core, but have no idea how can I do this in Tecplot.

Is there any tools in Tecplot to calculate circulation? OR
Can you give me some suggestion on how to extract data around the core (so I can do integration around it).

Many thanks.
Last edited by ridhwan on Wed Jan 27, 2010 4:57 am, edited 1 time in total.

davetaflin
Tecplot Employee

Postby davetaflin » Mon Jan 25, 2010 11:36 am

Hello, Ridhwan,

If you can define a closed path in your data over which to integrate, you can calculate circulation using the Analyze/Perform Integration menu option. In the Integrate dialog, for Type of Integration, select Vector Dotted with Unit Tangential, and select your velocity components for the Integrand. You then need to identify a line--a closed path--as your Domain of Integration. If you want to read more on specifying the domain of integration, click the Help button and scroll down a bit on the resulting help Web page. Click Integrate when you are done, and the circulation will be displayed as the integration result.

Dave

ridhwan

Postby ridhwan » Wed Jan 27, 2010 4:55 am